Search This Blog

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Gary Brown of Kentucky to advise Civil Rights Commission

Gary Brown, committee member
Update: This information was originally released through the Civil Rights press office on September 16, 2013 ( by Peter Minarik, Director of the Southern Regional Office.  

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights announced the appointment of 13 members to its Kentucky Advisory Committee. Gary Brown of Versailles, Ky. will serve along with
Dr. Betty Griffin of Danville, chairwoman. Other members of the Committee include Richard Clay of Danville,  Rosa Alvarado of Louisville, Dr. Christia Brown of Lexington, Dr. John Chowning of Campbellsville, Christopher Hunt of Lexington, Dr. Lee Look of Louisville, Samuel Marcosson of Louisville, Dr. Patricia Murrell of Louisville, Alice Wadell of Bowling Green, Mitchell Payne of Louisville and Christopher Hunt of Lexington.

Brown is a graduate of Lincoln Institute, studied at Colombia University, and is retired from IBM Corporation. He also is a Navy veteran.

Dr. Betty Griffin, committee chairman

Congress mandates the appointment of members to advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees to the advisory committees serve four-year terms and are unremunerated. The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters, studying civil rights issues, and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about Commission’s reports and meetings, visit


  1. George C says: Oh man ! Good stuff ! I know he will bring good stuff to the table. Sometime after retirement I hope to give back also, probably at more of a grass roots level. Tell Mr Brown we're proud of him! Tell Gary there is a strong and very intelligent voice in Jeroyd Evans, Naacp chapter president Marion County, Lebanon, Ky


Please leave a comment or email your comments to